• Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews
  • Brownlees Guest House Bed and Breakfast, St Andrews

Brownlees Bed and Breakfast Testimonials

"Friendly, welcoming guest house"

12 Nov 2016 Reviewed by dagmariber

Very friendly hosts (and cat), excellent location just next to the coast, breakfast with fresh fruit salad, home-made jam - and, of course, a cooked part by order.


"Vacation"

15 Oct 2016 Reviewed by Sheilagaultgibilisco

Excellent location, food and owners are very friendly, knowledgeable and historical ⯑ Trevor helped my son get on the Old Course right away! No wait!!! We were very lucky it's been my son's dream to play this course and it's literally down the street!


"The Perfect Golf Accommodations"

4 Sep 2016 Reviewed by dgamret

Clean rooms, breakfasts cooked to order for early tee times, parking available and plenty of good food and pubs nearby. Within a well-struck tee shot of the Royal & Ancient clubhouse so walking to the Old Course with golf bags is definitely a plus. Trevor and Jacqui top the list of accommodating hosts and they'll both give you tips on playing all the local courses!! Why stay anywhere else in St. Andrews? Dave Gamret & Crew


"Clean, friendly and goes the extra mile."

31 Jul 2016 Reviewed by LAPeniston

We arrived via the red-eye way too early for check-in. Trevor and Jackie changed over the room ASAP and gave us some fresh fruit and coffee while we waited. I asked for ice, and Trevor went to a neighbor to get some for me: needless to say the service was extraordinary. The facilities were clean, the breakfasts were delicious and the location is perfect (and parking is free and right outside the front door). I highly recommend Brownlees.


"A Warm Welcome To Scotland"

27 May 2016 Reviewed by Julie Q

Brownlee's was our first stop after arriving in Scotland and we were met warmly by Trevor and Jackie. Brownlee's has a great location. They are so close to The Old Course, shopping and restaurants. Trevor and Jackie are TERRIFIC hosts; very friendly and helpful with many great tips and fun stories. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious with a variety of options. We really appreciated Trevor and Jackie accommodating our early departure and making us breakfast before their regular serving time. We felt so comfortable at Brownlee's and hated to leave


Perfect B&B

I would recommend this B&B very highly - excellent location, warm and clean rooms with friendly, helpful owners. There was lots of choice of breakfast and ours was freshly cooked and delicious. The house is very central and there is a small car park outside. The owners couldn't have been more kind and helpful

Wilhelmina Clevedon, United Kingdom


Great B&B.

Brownlees Guest House is ideally situated in St Andrews, close to the golf courses, shops, restaurants and the University. There is free parking on the street outside and a small car park for approximately 20 cars a few yards away which is also free.

The room we had was very clean, the bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was also spotless. The only slight problem we had was that the shower was lacking pressure, but it was still adequate.

Breakfast was fantastic - fruit juice, fresh fruit salad, cereals and a lovely cooked plate of bacon, sausage, tomatoes and mushrooms. Filtered coffee and a couple of rounds of toast with superb marmalade finished it all off.

Stayed Oct 2013, travelled as a couple

Silberhorn


Fantastic Guest House - Stay Here!

Exactly what a guest house should be: warm, friendly, immaculately clean and everything done to the highest standards. Trevor and Jacqui even made me a packed lunch to eat on my way home, the day that I left. Amazingly convenient location too. Overall, superb!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business

Caroline - Oxford, United Kingdom


The Brownlees is run by a very friendly accommodating couple and is situated within walking distance to the first tee at the Old Course and a number good restaurants. Both Jacqui and Trevor are accomplished golfers, so they can help you with everything related to golf in the St Andrews area. Before I stayed there, I heard that, "Jacqui makes the best eggs benedict". It was excellent, however, I thought the french toast was even better :) 

Mary Ann A, Birmingham, Alabama, United States


I enjoyed my stay at Brownlees. Jacqui and Trevor are great hosts. Trevor was friendly, extremely helpful, and provided great breakfast stories and entertainment. Jacqui's was also very friendly and her breakfasts were wonderful. I especially liked the fresh fruit every morning and fresh raspberry preserves. If I'm ever in St. Andrews again I will certainly plan to stay at Brownlees. 

Craig S, Keene, New Hampshire


As a golfer, you just can't find a better place to stay. Just 3 minute walk off the legendary Old course! I received a very nice welcome from Jacqueline who was expecting me. The breakfast is just delicious and I just had to pop up to see Trevor or Jacqueline inquiring about what I would like to have for breakfast. There is plenty in the plate. It was just right for the activity I had planned. I had the only single room that they have with private facilities (shower, lavatory and toilet) on the very next door. It is not always the case in some very nice hotels I could have stayed at! There is a 55 bay parking lot just on Murray place and I did not have any trouble finding a bay whatever the time I arrived. I had a great time there and I highly recommend it! 

Bretigny sur Orge


My son and I just spent 6 nights here. Could not have been better. Great location close to the Old course, bars and restaurants. Jacqui and Trevor were great hosts. Great advice from Trevor on golf and assistance with tee times. Actually played The Old Course with Trevor. Breakfast each morning was outstanding. Room was comfortable and cleaned each day. Our 1st trip to St Andrews but we will definitely be back. 

Wes M, Atlanta, Georgia, United States


Through their efforts (Trevor and Jackie), our first trip to Scotland was indeed wonderful.


Jackie even encouraged us (the two novice lady golfers) to play the nearby 9 hole par 3 course and even provided clubs to make it happen. What a thrill to say that we played golf in Scotland! We thoroughly enjoyed our morning and I even managed to par the last hole.


At Brownlees our beautifully decorated rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. We found Trevor and Jackie to be genuinely warm hosts who eagerly shared their knowledge of the area by providing suggestions from great restaurants to local pubs. Our trip could not have been better


Great Place, next time I'm in St.Andrews, 1st place I will look up - Fraser Bell, Shetland


Absolutely wonderful, above and beyond the call of duty - Ron & Jenny Adams, Wollongong, Aus


Thanks for your great hospitality, you have made my stay a pleasure - Michael Loures. Orlando, Fl.


Great hospitality, breakfast brilliant - Alvin Steinberg, Lake Tahoe, NV

Trip Advisor - Golfing Short Stay

Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2016

Brownlees Guest House on Tripadvisor

Brownlees Guest House Client Testimonials

  • "Friendly, welcoming guest house"

    Very friendly hosts (and cat), excellent location just next to the coast, breakfast with fresh fruit salad, home-made jam - and, of course, a cooked part by order - 12 Nov 2016 Reviewed by dagmariber
  • "Vacation "

    Excellent location, food and owners are very friendly, knowledgeable and historical ⯑ Trevor helped my son get on the Old Course right away! No wait!!! We were very lucky  it's been my son's dream to play this course and it's literally down the street! - 15 Oct 2016 Reviewed by Sheilagaultgibilisco
  • "The Perfect Golf Accommodations"

    Clean rooms, breakfasts cooked to order for early tee times, parking available and plenty of good food and pubs nearby. Within a well-struck tee shot of the Royal & Ancient clubhouse so walking to the Old Course with golf bags is definitely a plus. Trevor and Jacqui top the list of accommodating hosts and they'll both give you tips on playing all the local courses!! Why stay anywhere else in St. Andrews? Dave Gamret & Crew - 4 Sep 2016 Reviewed by dgamret
  • "Clean, friendly and goes the extra mile."

    We arrived via the red-eye way too early for check-in. Trevor and Jackie changed over the room ASAP and gave us some fresh fruit and coffee while we waited. I asked for ice, and Trevor went to a neighbor to get some for me: needless to say the service was extraordinary. The facilities were clean, the breakfasts were delicious and the location is perfect (and parking is free and right outside the front door). I highly recommend Brownlees. - 31 Jul 2016 Reviewed by LAPeniston
  • "A Warm Welcome To Scotland"

    Brownlee's was our first stop after arriving in Scotland and we were met warmly by Trevor and Jackie. Brownlee's has a great location. They are so close to The Old Course, shopping and restaurants. Trevor and Jackie are TERRIFIC hosts; very friendly and helpful with many great tips and fun stories. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious with a variety of options. We really appreciated Trevor and Jackie accommodating our early departure and making us breakfast before their regular serving time. We felt so comfortable at Brownlee's and hated to leave  - 27 May 2016 Reviewed by Julie Q

Contact Details

Brownlees Guest House
7 Murray Place
St. Andrews
FIFE KY16 9AP
SCOTLAND

We Accept

We accept Sterling together with the following credit/ debit cards. For Bank Transfers or other methods of payment please enquire.

We accept these cards